It’s Almost Time for Resolutions.


Oh, December.  You are here already and not only here, but flying by me faster than I can keep up.  Christmas is right around the corner, and then the New Year, and then we’ll all be making plans and setting goals for this new year we’ll call 2014.  Goodness. Where has the time gone?

I was just checking out my Tentative Racing Schedule from 2013.  🙂 I smile as I realize how much of that changed (and how much didn’t actually) with the pregnancy and the birth of Titus.

I know I didn’t meet all my goals.  Is that a bad thing?

For me, it’s normally frustrating.  I thrive on goals as they encourage, challenge, and inspire me.  They keep me going in a lot of ways and offer direction to my dedication.

13001_603767255020_1457760132_nThis new year will bring its own challenges, struggles, and surprises, and I look forward to what God has in store.

Until then, I’m starting training for the Ragnar Ontario this May. 🙂  A team of six of us women (yes, you read that correctly — just 6 of us!) will be running the 200-mile stretch between Cobourg and Niagara Ontario.  I’m stoked.  In case you were wondering, that means each of us will be running between 30 and 40 miles in a 24-hour period.

My training plan:

I downloaded the Marathon 3 training plan from Hal Higdon.  I chose this plan because it offers a schedule with cross-training, which is very important to me, and a 3-runs-per-week training schedule.  Despite not running more than 10 miles in one stretch, I’ve decided that a marathon training plan is more practical in the long run.  I need to have the endurance to run almost 2 marathons for this Ragnar (on little to no sleep no less!) so planning for a marathon in the least prep I can manage.  However, my long running days (20 miles or so) will be done in segments so my body will be used to running fatigued.

I’m also about to head into my second go-around with New Rules of Lifting for Women.  I’ve been doing Jamie Eason’s LiveFit program and haven’t been awfully impressed (although I started it during pregnancy and am finishing now, so it’s hard to judge results). I’m looking forward to New Rules and the schedule there.

I know I owe you a ton of posts and updates and serious life discussions — bear with me as I’m rearranging my life and setting fresh goals.

Do you set realistic goals for yourself?
What goals have you met this year?  
Which goal have you let fall through the cracks?
This entry was posted in Life, Lifting, running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

